The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling | Book Review and Giveaway

13497818

Title: The Casual Vacancy
Author: JK Rowling
Genre: Adult Contemporary
Publication date: 27 September 2012
Narrator:  Tom Hollander
Source: Hardcover copy from Penguin Books
South Africa and audio book my own copy


Buy links:

KindleBook Depository Audio

Goodreads blurb:
A big novel about a small town…

When Barry Fairbrother dies in his early forties, the town of Pagford is left in shock.

Pagford is, seemingly, an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, but what lies behind the pretty façade is a town at war.

Rich at war with poor, teenagers at war with their parents, wives at war with their husbands, teachers at war with their pupils…Pagford is not what it first seems.

And the empty seat left by Barry on the parish council soon becomes the catalyst for the biggest war the town has yet seen. Who will triumph in an election fraught with passion, duplicity, and unexpected revelations?

A big novel about a small town, The Casual Vacancy is J.K. Rowling’s first novel for adults. It is the work of a storyteller like no other.

My thoughts:
I received a review copy of this book from Penguin Books South Africa last year and I was absolutely thrilled.  JK Rowling taking on a new genre – how exciting!
Talking to my bookish friends, everyone had a different opinion.  Some loved it, some hated it and some were not able to finish it.  I was torn, did I want to invest so much time, just to hate it after a few chapters? 

In the end, after reading some reviews, I decided to get the audio book to listen while doing some of my everyday chores.  I am so glad I did.   The book was so different for anything I have read before.  I am not one for contemporary books but I was hooked.  I wanted to know what happened to these poor, poor people.  They have such terribly sad lifes.

I loved the narrator, Tom Hollander – his calm voice helped with the absolutely awful way the characters treated each other.  I must admit, I hated almost all the characters.  Even the teenagers.  We are shown the ugly side of human nature and it is shocking.   I realize that this is probably the way that many people feel in that secret part of their minds that no-one knows about but I have never been exposed to it so fully.  Even married couples had ulterior motives for almost all they did, even to the point of cruelness.

If you are expecting the excitement of the Harry Potter books, you are looking at the wrong book.  This book is all about human emotions and the way people in a small town interact with one another and . . . what they will do to get what they want . . .

Three_Cup_Rater

My Album 35-001

Penguin Books South Africa has graciously given 3 signed copies to 3 lucky South African readers.

Just click on the link below and you will be taken to the Rafflecopter for your entries.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

efusion_logo

About baychriz

I love reading and blogging.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling | Book Review and Giveaway

  1. Oh wow what a crazy awesome prize! *dies*

  2. Lauren Fraser says:

    What an AWESOME give away!!

  3. Yolanda says:

    Thank you for the giveaway!

  4. It’s such a treat when the narration fits the story perfectly. It’s good to hear you enjoyed this one.
    Thank you Chrizette and Penguin for this giveaway! *fingers crossed*

  5. cat_hellisen says:

    Okay, I loved this book so this is awesome. 😀

  6. verushka143 says:

    Wow awesome giveaway loved the HP collection looking forward to this one

  7. Thank you for hosting such an amazing giveaway!! I do want to read The Casual Vacancy to be able to state an opinion on Rowling’s cross over to adult. I have heard so many varying reviews which either praise or bash Rowling. I think it was very brave of her to try something different.

  8. Rehana Seedat says:

    All steps done via rafflecopter sytem. Tweeted @online61524

  9. NicG says:

    Nice giveaway!!! 🙂

  10. Anna says:

    Thank you for the giveaway!

  11. Sigi says:

    Awesome giveaway!

  12. Berita says:

    Thank you for the giveaway!

  13. Odette says:

    I love JK Rowling, I’ve read all the Harry Potter books, at least a dozen times and seen all of the films. I would love to win a copy. Definitely entering!

  14. johann says:

    If I win, I’ll give it away.

  15. Pingback: Wrap up for February 2013 . . . | Just Reading For Fun

Leave a Reply

