Book Review: Cooking for your Gluten-Free Teen

cook4

Title: Cooking for your Gluten-Free Teen

Authors: Carlyn Berghoff, Sarah Berghoff McClure,
Suzanne P. Nelson, Nancy Ross Ryan

Genre: Recipe Book

Publication date:
23 April 2013

Source: NetGalley

Buy links:
Amazon

My Album 37-013
With 100 recipes for teen and family favorites such as Pizza, Mac ‘n’ Cheese, Grilled Cheese, Sweet Potato Fries, Almond Streusel Coffee Cake, and more, Cooking for Your Gluten-Free Teen proves that teens and their families don’t have to sacrifice on foods, flavor, or convenience to eat gluten free.

Sarah Berghoff McClure practically grew up in the kitchens of Chicago’s historic Berghoff Restaurant, where wheat-filled German-American favorites such as schnitzels, spaetzles, strudels, and rye bread are staples. When Sarah was diagnosed with Celiac disease, she thought her days of eating her favorite pizzas, pastas, and pastries with her friends were over. Her mother, Carlyn Berghoff, chef/owner of the Berghoff Restaurant, stepped in, and together, she and Sarah began creating gluten-free versions of kid and teen-friendly foods that Sarah could enjoy.

Cooking for Your Gluten-Free Teen offers a unique perspective on living gluten-free from not only someone living with gluten-intolerance, but also from a parent who is also a chef, and a doctor, Susan Nelson, who specializes in treating teens and others with Celiac disease.

My Album 37-014
Living with wheat-intolerance in the family is hard.  I am sure it is much easier than even a few years ago.   These days you are able to order take-away wheat-free pizzas from your favourite pizza place .  But it still sucks not being able to just eat what you like without worrying about the consequences.  So when I saw this book on NetGalley, I could not push the “request” button quick enough.

The first part of the book deals with all the facts and figures – the things you want (and need) to know.   It also personalise the condition in the “this-happened-to-me” pages.   Unfortunately for me, I think the book is aimed at an American audience (?) as when it came to product suggestions, it was all brands not familiar to me.

The recipes are all familiar, easy meals – nothing new or special.  But as it is written for the teenage sufferer, this all fits.  I am sure than even the beginner teenage cook will be able to find an old favourite from these pages.

In the galley I received, I found only a few photos of the dishes but I am not sure if that is just because it is an ARC.  Unfortunately this diminished my view of the book as I am a visual cook.  I like to see what the final dishes will look like.  The final copy might be brimming with beautiful photos.

All in all, I think it is perfect for the teenage market it is written for.

My Album 37-001

 

About baychriz

I love reading and blogging.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

